States‎ > ‎Territories‎ > ‎

Northern Mariana Islands

The Northern Mariana Islands, officially the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, is one of five inhabited American insular areas. It is one of two territories with "commonwealth" status; the other is Puerto Rico. It consists of fifteen islands in the northwestern Pacific Ocean. The Northern Mariana Islands and Guam form the Mariana Islands. The United States Department of the Interior cites a landmass of 183.5 square miles (475.26 km2). According to the 2010 census, 53,883 people reside in the Northern Mariana Islands. Only SaipanTinian, and Rota are inhabited.

The administrative center is Capital Hill, a village in northwestern Saipan. Because the island is governed as a single municipality, most publications consider Saipan the capital.