Who's in the Government

You may know about how the government works, but you may still wonder who's running the United States government. Who's in charge of protecting the country, upholding the welfare of the people, safeguarding consumers against dangerous drugs and products, making sure that there's enough energy supply, and funding and encouraging new ideas and innovations? On this page, you can find out who's in the government- federal, state, and local.

President Obama's Cabinet

The United States Cabinet
 President Barack Obama (2009-present)

Secretary of State- John Kerry
Secretary of the Treasury- Jack Lew
Secretary of Defense- Chuck Hagel
Attorney General- Eric H Holder
Secretary of the Interior- Sally Jewell
Secretary of Agriculture- Thomas Vilsack
Secretary of Commerce- Penny Pritzker
Secretary of Labor- Thomas Perez
Secretary of Health and Human Services- Sylvia Burwell
Secretary of Education- Arne Duncan
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development- Julian Castro
Secretary of Transportation- Anthony Foxx
Secretary of Energy- Ernest Moniz
Secretary of Veterans Affairs- Robert McDonald
Secretary of Homeland Security- Jeh Johnson

Cabinet-level staff
Vice President- Joe Biden
White House Chief of Staff- Denis McDonough
Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency- Gina McCarthy
Director of the Office of Management and Budget- LS Donovan
Trade Representative- Michael Froman
Ambassador to the United Nations- Samantha Power
Chair of the Council of Economic Advisers- Jason Furman

Current United States Governors

Current United States Governors
Alabama- Robert Bentley (R)
Alaska- Bill Walker (I)
Arizona- Doug Ducey (R)
Arkansas- Asa Hutchinson (R)
California- Jerry Brown (D)
Colorado- John Hickenlooper (D)
Connecticut- Dan Malloy (D)
Delaware- Jack Markell (D)
Florida- Rick Scott (R)
Georgia- Nathan Deal (R)
Hawaii- David Ige (D)
Idaho- Butch Otter (R)
Illinois- Bruce Rauner (R)
Indiana- Mike Pence (R)
Iowa- Terry Branstad (R)
Kansas- Sam Brownback (R)
Kentucky- Steve Beshear (D)
Louisiana- Bobby Jindal (R)
Maine- Paul LePage (R)
Maryland- Larry Hogan (R)
Massachusetts- Charlie Baker (R)
Michigan- Rick Snyder (R)
Minnesota- Mark Dayton (D)
Mississippi- Phil Bryant (R)
Missouri- Jay Nixon (D)
Montana- Steve Bullock (D)
Nebraska- Pete Ricketts (R)
Nevada- Brian Sandoval (R)
New Hampshire- Maggie Hassan (D)
New Jersey- Chris Christie (R)
New Mexico- Susana Martinez (R)
New York- Andrew Cuomo (D)
North Carolina- Pat McCrory (R)
North Dakota- Jack Dalrymple (R)
Ohio- John Kasich (R)
Oklahoma- Mary Fallin (R)
Oregon- Kate Brown (D)
Pennsylvania- Tom Wolf (D)
Rhode Island- Gina Raimondo (D)
South Carolina- Nikki Haley (R)
South Dakota- Dennis Daugaard (R)
Tennessee- Bill Haslam (R)
Texas- Greg Abbott (R)
Utah- Gary Herbert (R)
Vermont- Peter Shumlin (D)
Virginia- Terry McAuliffe (D)
Washington- Jay Inslee (D)
West Virginia- Earl Ray Tomblin (D)
Wisconsin- Scott Walker (R)
Wyoming- Matt Mead (R)