America Central‎ > ‎US Universities‎ > ‎

University of Utah

Fact Box

University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Established 1850
Students- 30,819
Undergraduates- 23,371
Postgraduates- 7,448
Endowment- 513.4 million
Mascot- Swoop

The University of Utah (also referred to as the Uthe U of U, or Utah) is a public coeducational space-grant research university in Salt Lake CityUtah, United States. As the state's flagship university, the university offers more than 100 undergraduate majors and more than 92 graduate degree programs. Graduate studies include the S.J. Quinney College of Law and the School of Medicine, Utah's only medical school. As of Autumn 2012, there are 24,840 undergraduate students and 7,548 graduate students, for an enrollment total of 32,388; with 83% coming from Utah and 9% coming from foreign countries. Just over 10% of students live on campus.

The university's athletic teams, the Utes, participate in NCAA Division I athletics (FBS for football) as a member of the Pacific-12 Conference. Its football team has received national attention in recent years for winning the 2005 Fiesta Bowl and the 2009 Sugar Bowl.

The university was established in 1850 as the University of Deseret by the General Assembly of the provisional State of Deseret, making it Utah's oldest institution of higher education. It received its current name in 1892, four years before Utah attained statehood, and moved to its current location in 1900.