America Central‎ > ‎US Universities‎ > ‎

University of Kentucky

Fact Box

University of Kentucky
File:Main Bldg (UK).jpg
Lexington, KY
Established 1865
Students- 27,209
Undergraduates- 19,292
Postgraduates- 7,090
Endowment- 778.89 million
Mascot-The Wildcat

The University of Kentucky (UK) is a public co-educational university in LexingtonKentucky. Founded in 1865 by Isaiah Giles as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Kentucky, the university is one of the state's two land-grant universities (the other being Kentucky State University), the largest college or university in the state, with 29,385 students as of Fall 2013, and the highest ranked research university in the state according to U.S. News and World Report.

The institution comprises 16 colleges, a graduate school, 93 undergraduate programs, 99 master programs, 66 doctoral programs, and four professional programs. The University of Kentucky has fifteen libraries on campus. The largest is William T. Young Library, a federal depository, hosting subjects related to social scienceshumanities, and life sciences collections. In recent years, the university has focused expenditures increasingly on research, following a compact formed by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1997. The directive mandated that the university become a Top 20 public research institution, in terms of an overall ranking to be determined by the university itself, by the year 2020.