America Central‎ > ‎US Universities‎ > ‎

University of Georgia

Fact Box

University of Georgia
Athens, GA
Established 1785
Students- 34,884
Undergraduates- N/A
Postgraduates- N/A
Endowment- 572.5 million
Mascot- Uga

The University of Georgia, founded in 1785, and commonly referred to as UGA or simply Georgia, is an American land-grant andsea grant research university. Its primary location is a 759-acre (3.07 km2) campus in the college town of Athens, Georgia, approximately an hour's drive from Atlanta, Georgia. It is considered the State of Georgia's flagship university. The university is ranked 20th overall among all public national universities in the current U.S. News & World Report rankings, and consistently ranks as high as 101st among all the top international universities in the world. While having high overall ratings, Georgia ranks in the top 10 for evaluations in several fields of study. The university is a part of the University System of Georgia, is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. It is classified as a "Research University / Very High Research Activity" with a "More Selective" student body by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education.

Founded in 1785 as the United States' first state-chartered university, it is the oldest and largest of Georgia's institutions of higher learning and along with the College of William and Mary and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill claims the title of the oldest public university in the United States. The university's historic and beautiful North Campus is on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places as a designated historic district, and it and the contiguous campus areas include rolling hills and extensive arboreta.

The university offers over 140 degree programs in a wide array of disciplines. Consisting of thirteen libraries spread across multiple campuses, the UGA Libraries contain a total of 4.7 million volumes and one of nation's largest map collections. The University of Georgia is one of 126 member institutions that comprise the Association of Research Libraries.

The University of Georgia is organized into eighteen schools and colleges. The university has three primary campuses. The largest one is the main campus in Athens that includes 389 buildings, while the two others are located in Tifton, Georgia and Griffin, Georgia. The University of Georgia also has two satellite campuses located in Atlanta and Lawrenceville, Georgia. The university operates several service and outreach stations spread across the state. The total acreage utilized by the university located in 30 Georgia counties is 39,950 acres (161.672 km²).

The University of Georgia also owns a residential and research center in Washington, DC, plus three international residential and research centers located at Oxford University in Oxford, England, at Cortona, Italy, and at Monteverde, Costa Rica.

Student athletics, both varsity and intramural, are an integral part of student and alumni life. The University of Georgia's intercollegiate sports teams, commonly known by their "Georgia Bulldogs" nickname, compete in National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I and the Southeastern Conference (SEC). UGA served as a founding member of the SEC in 1932. In their 121-year history, the university's varsity sports teams have won 39 national championships and 130 conference championships. The Georgia Redcoat Marching Band, the official marching band of the university, plays at sports and other events.