America Central‎ > ‎US Universities‎ > ‎

Carnegie Mellon University

Fact Box

Carnegie Mellon University
File:CMU Hamerschlag Hall.jpg
Pittsburgh, PA
Established 1900
Students- 10,970
Undergraduates- 5,705
Postgraduates- 5,265
Endowment- 815.1 million
Mascot- Scotty the Scottie Dog

Carnegie Mellon University (Carnegie Mellon or CMU) is a private research university inPittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

The university began as the Carnegie Technical Schools founded by Andrew Carnegie in 1900. In 1912, the school became the Carnegie Institute of Technology and began granting four-year degrees. In 1967, the Carnegie Institute of Technology merged with the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research to form Carnegie Mellon University. The university's 140-acre (57 ha) main campus is 3 miles (4.8 km) from Downtown Pittsburgh and abuts the Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh, the main branch of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, the Carnegie Music Hall, Schenley ParkPhipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, the Pittsburgh Golf Club, and the campus of the University of Pittsburgh in the city's Oakland and Squirrel Hill neighborhoods, partially extending into Shadyside.

Carnegie Mellon has seven colleges and independent schools: the College of EngineeringCollege of Fine ArtsDietrich College of Humanities and Social SciencesMellon College of ScienceTepper School of BusinessH. John Heinz III College and the School of Computer Science.

First year students are required to live on campus and 75% of undergraduates remain in the on-campus house system. Carnegie Mellon fields 17 varsity athletic teams as part of the University Athletic Association conference of the NCAA Division III.