The United States Census Bureau defines four statistical regions, with nine divisions. The Census Bureau regions are widely used for data collection and analysis, and are widely accepted. They are as follows:

  • New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • Mid-Atlantic: New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania
  • East North Central: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin
  • West North Central: Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota
  • South Atlantic: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia
  • East South Central: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, and Tennessee
  • West South Central: Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Mountain: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Pacific: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Oregon, and Washington
Area and Populations

 Region Area (square miles) Population
 New England 71,991  14,680,722
 Mid-Atlantic 191,30857,303,316 
 East North Central 299,170 46,421,564
 West North Central 507,913 20,505,437
 South Atlantic 292,589 61,774,970
 East South Central 183,04118,022,810 
 West South Central 443,50137,849,985 
 Mountain 863,618 22,065,451
 Pacific1,007,638  51,990,562