Philadelphia Mint

Fact Box

Philadelphia Mint
North Independence Mall, Philadelphia, PA
Built in 1969
Architect: Vincent G. Kling
Governing Body: United States Department of the Treasury
Mint Mark: P
Created as the first mint facility in 1792, it was built in Philadelphia because it was the nation's capital at the time. Over the years, the mint has been in four buildings. The mint operated in its first buildings from 1792-1833, its second building from 1833-1901, its third building from 1901-1973, and its fourth building from 1969 to the present. Tours can be taken of the facility.